July 3, 2022

existinglaw

Law for politics

Is Tennessee a No-Fault State?

What Does It Mean to Be an At-Fault State?

Our Nashville car accident attorneys explain how to hold reckless drivers accountable for your injuries.  

Car accidents often happen due to reckless behavior on the part of other drivers. In some states, no-fault insurance laws are in effect. This means that each driver seeks compensation through their own insurance policy, regardless of who is to blame. This is not the case in Tennessee. Our Nashville car accident attorneys explain how in our fault state, reckless drivers can be held accountable for their actions and made to pay for the costs you incur due to car accident injuries. 

Car Accident Fault And Financial Responsibility Laws in Tennessee

According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), there are a total of 12 states that have no-fault insurance laws in place. This means that drivers are generally required to carry a mandatory minimum amount of insurance coverage to protect themselves against car accidents, regardless of whether another driver is to blame. Other than these 12, which include Florida, New York, Pennsylvania, and Michigan, all the rest have fault-based laws in place. 

Tennessee is a fault state but this does not impact insurance requirements. Under state Financial Responsibility Laws, you are still required to maintain a mandatory minimum amount of coverage. The only alternative is to provide proof of financial responsibility by posting a bond or making a cash deposit with the Department of Revenue for $65,000.

Mandatory minimum amounts of liability insurance help ensure drivers pay when they are responsible for property damages and/or personal injuries to others. The following are state minimums: 

  • $25,000 in bodily injury liability coverage per individual;
  • $50,000 total bodily injury liability coverage per accident;
  • $15,000 for total property damage liability.

When Reckless Driving Results In Car Accident Injuries

Statistics from the state Department of Safety and Homeland Security show that over 1,000 drivers and passengers are killed in car accidents in Tennessee each year. Thousands of others suffer serious personal injuries. Sadly, reckless driving is one of the biggest causes. This includes: 

  • Running red lights and stop signs;
  • Speeding and going too fast for conditions;
  • Failing to yield, tailgating, and other aggressive driving behavior;
  • Distracted driving;
  • Driving while impaired. 

Considering even a relatively minor crash can result in tens of thousands of dollars in medical expenses alone, mandatory minimum insurance amounts are unlikely to cover the costs associated with car accident injuries. Fortunately, being a fault state, you have the right to hold reckless drivers accountable for the total amount of your losses in a car accident lawsuit filed through the local courts.    

Contact Our Nashville, TN Car Accident Attorney Today 

In a fault state, you have the right to hold reckless drivers accountable for damages you suffer due to car accident injuries. To get the maximum amount you need to recover from your injuries, get Bednarz Law on your side. Give us a call at (615) 256-0100 or contact our Nashville car accident attorney online and request a consultation today.